Award Winners Honored at CWEA 2014 Annual Conference

The California Water Environment Association (CWEA) announced the winners of its 2013 awards program at its Annual Conference in Santa Clara on May 2.  Congratulations to these agencies and individuals leading the way in the water environment field!

Established in 1929, CWEA’s awards program has grown to acknowledge outstanding achievement in more than 20 categories honoring exceptional California water environment professionals, collection systems, and treatment plants.  Categories include Plant of the Year, Collection System of the Year, Public Education Program of the Year as well as awards of individual professionals in various vocations. The program seeks to recognize outstanding achievements within the water environment field, improve the professional status of all personnel working in the field, and stimulate public awareness of the importance of wastewater treatment to public health and the water environment.

Nominations that advance through CWEA’s 17 local sections’ awards programs are eligible to compete statewide. Congratulations to the nominees to the 2013 awards program for their diligent work to keep California’s water clean and workforce strong. Application materials for the 2014 awards cycle will be posted on in July.

CWEA officers are available to make a presentation to CWEA award recipients at agency board or City Council meetings.  Please contact Victoria Rawson  at or (510) 382-7800 x 113.

CWEA 2013 Awards Winners

5S Society

  • Kent Bricker, San Diego Section
  • Nancy Cameron, Northern Sacramento Valley Section
  • Dion Castro, Santa Ana River Basin Section
  • William Cassidy, Santa Ana River Basin Section
  • Steve Caswel,l Sacramento Area Section
  • Steve Dominguez, San Francisco Bay Section
  • Meg Herston, San Francisco Bay Section & Redwood Empire
  • Teresa Kistner, Tri-Counties Section
  • Linda Leong, San Francisco Bay Section
  • Helen Ling, San Francisco Bay Section
  • Ken Merkle, Northern San Joaquin Valley Section
  • Bob Phillips, Santa Ana River Basin Section
  • Roy Reynolds, Santa Ana River Basin Section

Collection System of the Year (0-249 Miles)

  • Fairfield-Suisun Sewer District

Collection System of the Year (250-500 Miles)

  • Oro Loma Sanitary District

Collection System of the Year (Over 500 Miles)

  • Central Contra Costa Sanitary District

Collection System Person of the Year

  • Gabriel Mendez, Leucadia Wastewater District

Electrical/Instrumentation Person of the Year

  • Robert Hulsmann, West Bay Sanitary District

Engineering Achievement

  • Bill Moorhead & Zakir Hirani, City of Anaheim Water Recycling Demonstration Project

Engineering Research Achievement

  • William Yu, Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District

Gimmicks & Gadgets

  • Ist Place: Leo Gonzalez, Central Contra Costa Sanitary District, Ergonomic Hose Rack
  • 2nd Place: Justin Graves, Mark Bumgarner & Morgan Lea, Goleta Sanitary District, Restaurant Interceptor
  • 2nd Place: Brad Adams, Victor Valley Wastewater Reclamation Authority, Subsurface Coliform Sampler
  • 3rd Place: Mike Klubben, Central Contra Costa Sanitary District, Rod Turning Handle

Golden Manhole

  • Dan Stevenson, City of Sunnyvale
  • Vincent Falzon, City of Burlingame

Kirt Brooks Memorial Water Environment Scholarship

  • Amy Calderwood
  • David Huff
  • Bryce Danker
  • Nathan Yang
  • Amy Calderwood
  • Hayley Palilla

Laboratory Person of the Year

  • Jackie McCloud, City of Watsonville

Mechanical Technician of the Year

  • Francis Hobbs, Big Bear Area Regional Wastewater Agency

Operator of the Year

  • Benjamin Carver, Fairfield-Suisun Sewer District

Outstanding Young Professional of the Year

  • Jennifer Ku

P3S Facility of the Year

  • Saputo Cheese USA, Inc.

P3S Certificates of Merit for Outstanding Achievement:

  • Evoqua Water Technologies, LLC.
  • Valley Generating Station, Department of Water & Power City of Los Angeles
P3S Person of the Year
  • Kay Allen, City of Simi Valley


  • Christopher Brown, Oro Loma Sanitary District
  • Nichol Bowersox, Cupertino Sanitary District

Plant of the Year, 5-20 MGD

  • City of Santa Cruz

Plant of the Year, Greater than 20 MGD

  • Encina Water Pollution Control Facility

Plant of the Year, Less than 5MGD

  • Valley Center Municipal Water District, Lower Moosa Canyon Reclamation Facility

Plant Safety, Large

  • Orange County Sanitation District

Plant Safety, Medium

  • Delta Diablo Sanitation District

Plant Safety, Small

  • City of Burlingame, Burlingame Wastewater Treatment Facility

Public Education Person of the Year

  • Robert Cole, Central Marin Sanitation Agency

Public Education, Large

  • City of Los Angeles, Department of Public Works, Bureau of Sanitation

Supervisor of the Year

  • Dante G. Marchetti, Central Contra Costa Sanitary District

CWEA/Water Environment Federation Awards

Arthur Sidney Bedell

  • Berlinda Blackburn, City of Coachella

George W. Burke Award

  • Delta Diablo Sanitation District

William D. Hatfield

  • Robert A. Gillette

Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award

Jackie McLoud

2014 Film Festival

Best Overall Semi-Professional: Oil Collector, San Francisco PUC

Best Overall Amateur: The Hydrologist,  City of San Diego

Best Overall Professional: Properly Dispose of Fats, Oils and Grease…Or Else!, Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District

About the Author

Chris Lundeen

Support great stories about water professionals & projects. Join CWEA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *