P3S Committee’s Facility of the Year Award


Since 1971, the Pretreatment, Pollution Prevention, and Stormwater (P3S) Committee of the California Water Environment Association (CWEA) has been recognizing the achievement of high performing industrial users with an annual Facility of the Year (FOTY) Awards program. The FOTY Awards are given to industrial users with significant accomplishments in the areas of industrial process wastewater pretreatment technology, material recycling, waste minimization, pollution prevention practices or stormwater runoff control programs. The FOTY Awards are presented annually at the CWEA P3S FOTY Awards luncheon scheduled during the annual conference on February 24-26, 2014. The names of the winners are also announced at the awards luncheon at the CWEA Annual Conference in April 2014.  Apply now!


The purpose of the FOTY Award is to create incentive on the part of industrial users taking proactive steps to meet current environmental pollution control standards. The FOTY Award gives an opportunity for CWEA members to provide positive publicity and recognition of the industrial user’s efforts and successes with protecting the water environment.


The following criteria were approved by the CWEA Board of Directors and may be used for the selection of nominees:

  • Must be permitted by a control authority (CA).
  • Implementation of any pollution prevention, waste minimization, material recycling or other source reduction measures.
  • Implementation of an innovative solution or technical advance to a waste management problem.
  • Operation and preventative maintenance practices to improve environmental performance.
  • Demonstration of a consistent record of meeting or exceeding industrial wastewater discharge permit requirements (e.g., operating without violations and/or “citation free” for the past 12 months).
  • Conduct active community service programs to develop public awareness for industrial wastewater control and environmental protection.

Members of the Northern and Southern California Awards Subcommittees review the nominations and may select the semi-finalists. The Subcommittees may conduct a site visit of each of the semi-finalists. The semi-finalists are selected so as to represent a variety of types of industries located in a variety of control authorities throughout the state that best satisfy the FOTY Award’s criteria.


A total of four FOTY Awards may be given each year. The FOTY Award categories are “Large Industry” and “Small Industry” from both Northern and Southern California. An engraved plaque will be presented to the winning industries. Runners-up in each of the categories may be presented with a Certificate of Merit (COM). The FOTY Awards subcommittees will prepare the awards. Nominations of industries for these FOTY Awards will be accepted from sanitation districts, publicly owned treatment works, consultants, trade associations, or industries on the FOTY Award Nomination Form (2 pages). Nominations for more than one user will be accepted from any individual or control authority.

Nominations for this year’s FOTY Award are requested to be submitted by Friday, November 22, 2013 in order to be eligible for the selection process. The subcommittee chairs may grant extensions to this deadline; contact the appropriate subcommittee chair to determine if an extension is available. The recommendations of the subcommittees for awards in each category will be submitted to the P3S Committee for final selection.

About the Author

CWEA Staff

Support great stories about water professionals & projects. Join CWEA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *